A yellow and grey logo with a yellow and grey speech bubble.
Disable Telegram Notifications

How to Disable Telegram Notifications

 

Disable Telegram Notifications

There’s always going to be a reason to get a notification, whether it’s from an existing chat or one from a new contact. Some notifications may be needed if you have to check your phone constantly for some reason.

In some cases, notifications might not be necessary, such as if you can’t go too far without opening Telegram. The notification bar will be cleared up when you turn off Telegram notifications. The option exists for you to enable them again at any time if you change your mind.

How to Turn off Telegram Notifications

If you want to avoid receiving Telegram notifications again, ensure the app is open. Tap on the three-lined menu at the top left and go to Settings. Select Notifications and Sounds from the Settings section.

The Notifications for Chats option is the first one in the next section. If you tap on the option name, additional options will appear. You can toggle off Private chats and group chats here.

There are a few options available if you want to tweak the Telegram notifications. You weren’t aware that you could do so. If you want to turn off private chats, you can do so here. But there are other options, such as:

  • Message preview
  • LED Color
  • Vibrate

Popup notifications

In this option, you can choose from No popup, Only when the screen is on, Only when the screen is off, and Always show a popup.

Sound

Here, you’ll have a long list of sounds to choose from. The downside is that Telegram doesn’t play a preview of the sound, so you can see if you like it or now. The options include Slack sound, but you can also add a notifications sound.

How to Change Notifications For a Specific Telegram Chat

 

Specific Telegram Chat

There is no reason why everyone must pay the same price just because one contact isn’t playing nice. To take a break from a particular chat, open it and tap on the dots at the top right. When you select Mute notifications, you can choose how long those notifications will be muted. You can choose from options such as:

  • 1-hour
  • 8-hours
  • 2-days
  • Disable

The Telegram app will automatically apply, and you’ll be notified with a brief message. The contact will have a speaker icon with a line across it on your chat list, indicating that it has been muted. If you change your mind and wish to unmute them, follow these same steps and choose the unmute option.

Choose Important Notifications

Additionally, you can choose how important these notifications are. Choose Importance, for instance, and you can choose from options such as:

  • Low
  • Medium
  • High
  • Urgent

Tap the Add an Exception button if you want someone to be exempt from these notifications. Choose your contact and save.

How about Group Notifications?

There are the same options for group notifications. There’s something you can do if Telegram notifications keep repeating, which is annoying. If you swipe in Notifications and Sounds, you should see a Repeat Notifications option. Tap on it and choose the off option. Or, you can choose from their options such as:

  • Five minutes
  • 10 minutes
  • 30 minutes
  • 1-hour
  • 2-hours
  • 4-hours

Notifications for all chats will be affected by these changes. You can, however, change notification settings for a specific chat by following these steps.

Turn off Telegram Notifications from Device’s Settings

In the Telegram app, you can disable the notifications directly. Alternatively, you can disable them from Settings if you are already there for some reason. Go to Apps and notifications.

Telegram in the List of all X apps. Open it and tap Notifications. The top of the screen has a toggle to turn off notifications. You can disable the notification dot and choose how you want to be notified.

How to Stop Contact Joined Telegram Message Notification

It is possible to turn off the notification in Telegram. It will only disable the push notification, however, if you use the following method. It doesn’t prevent Telegram from creating a new chat. You can find instructions on how to do that in the section titled ‘how to unsync contacts from Telegram’.

If you turn off Telegram notifications on one device, it doesn’t mean you’ll see the same change on all devices. It is a good idea to turn off the notification on each device separately if you use Telegram on multiple devices. Here’s how to go about it on Android and iOS.

Turn off Contact Joined Notification on Android

  1. Launch the Telegram app on your Android phone.
  2. Tap on the three-bar icon at the top. Select Settings from the menu.
  3. Tap on Notifications and Sounds.
  4. Scroll down to the Events section. Turn off the toggle next to ‘Contact joined Telegram.’

Turn off Contact Joined Notification on iOS

  1. Open the Telegram app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap on Settings at the bottom. In Settings, tap on Notifications and Sounds.
  3. Scroll down, and you will find ‘New contacts.’ Turn off the toggle.

Conclusion

Telegram is a messaging app that was launched years ago. It is popular for its ability to send messages to many users and has become one of the most popular social networks in the world.

It is used by individuals, businesses, institutions and governments to communicate with one another. This can be done through text messages, voice calls or video calls; however, it can also be done through Telegram notifications sent from the app itself.

FAQ

How to turn off Telegram floating notifications?

When you get your first bubble notifications, they can appear anywhere on your screen. At the bottom right, you’ll also see the Manage option. Tap on it, and you can choose from options such as Dismiss bubble, Don’t bubble this conversation, and Telegram settings (if you’re using Telegram).

How can I mute the Telegram app?

Click the three-dot icon on top of the chat screen. Choose the “Mute” option from the menu and choose the time frame. Tap the Confirm button to complete the process.

What is ghost mode in Telegram?

When you enable Ghost Mode, the app sets your «Last Seen» privacy to “Nobody”. After that, the application enables «Chats Preview mode». It’s a global setting for the entire app. You have last seen privacy changes only for the currently selected account. You need to “re-enable” it after you switch to another account.